Who is involved

The Media Freedom Coalition currently has 51 members from six continents. All members have signed the Global Pledge on Media Freedom.

The Coalition is led by two rotating Co-chairs, while an Executive Group of approximately eight countries provides strategic direction.

In line with the MFC’s terms of reference, countries wishing to join the Coalition will be assessed according to their record on media freedom and their membership and commitment to other intergovernmental or multi-stakeholder initiatives focusing on democracy and human rights. If you represent a country interested in joining the Media Freedom Coalition, the first step is to submit a request in writing to the MFC co-chairs.  Please contact the MFC Secretariat for more information on how to do this.

Current Co-chairs: 

Canada and the Netherlands

Current Executive Group: 

Canada, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Ghana, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, the United States

All members:
MFC member since